Publication Announcement: “Warehouses and All”

The blogger hiking in the Bisti Wilderness near Farmington, NM.

The blogger hiking in the Bisti Wilderness near Farmington, NM.

Around 8:30 tonight I sent off a bit of nanofiction entitled “Warehouses and All” to Beechwood Review, hoping to hear from them in 1-2 weeks.   I went to the grocery and when I returned about 9:15 I checked my e-mail to find that it had already been accepted.   The editor, Richard Heby, commented “Touching, sharp, very good Phil! I’ll accept it for issue 2.”

The story is based on a story told to me by the assistant agricultural attache to Sudan (though the story is set in Somalia), when I happened to meet her on a tour to the temple of Luxor, when I was stationed at the US embassy in Cairo in 1989.  “Warehouses and All” was first published in Six Sentences (www.sixsentences.blogspot.com) on September 22, 2009.

I do not know when issue 2 will come out, but issue 1 was for Summer, 2015.  I assume issue 2 will be out soon.

Many thanks to Mr. Heby for accepting my work.

Thoughts?   Comments?

 

Leave a Reply

