“A Study in Emerald” by Neil Gaiman

Neil Gaiman at the 2007 Scream Awards Photo by pinguino k

Neil Gaiman
at the 2007 Scream Awards
Photo by pinguino k

“A Study in Emerald”

I am not going to attempt to copy and paste this story here, because it is too beautifully formatted in it original form.  Follow the link to a short story by Neil Gaiman.  Scott Meslow in his article “9 contemporary horror stories you can read right now” (which I recommend reading) at The Week says about it:

Neil Gaiman won a Hugo Award for this clever pastiche, which blends together the best of both H.P. Lovecraft and Arthur Conan Doyle’s Sherlock Holmes for a case about a mysterious and disturbing death in London. As a bonus, the PDF copy of the story available online is a winking mockup of a 1914 newspaper story, with era-appropriate “ads” to match.

“It is the immensity, I believe. The hugeness of things below. The darkness of dreams.

“But I am woolgathering. Forgive me. I am not a literary man.

“I had been in need of lodgings. That was how I met him. I wanted someone to share the cost of rooms with me. We were introduced by a mutual acquaintance, in the chemical laboratories of St. Bart’s. “You have been in Afghanistan, I perceive,” that was what he said to me, and my mouth fell open and my eyes opened very wide…”

Follow the link above to read more.

Leave a Reply

