Stephen King vs. the Adverb

Nice, enjoyable article about the lack of need for adverbs.

Dysfunctional Literacy

(image via Wikimedia) (image via Wikimedia)

The adverb has an undeservedly bad reputation, I believe.  The adverb is a part of speech, so it has to have an important role in grammar and sentence structure.  I learned that in school.  Yet, famous authors often malign the adverb and say its usage hurts writing.  Stephen King has said: “I believe the road to hell is paved with adverbs,…”  When the Modern Master of Horror equates a kind of word with eternal damnation, you have to take that seriously.

I just finished reading On Writing by Stephen King.  It seems that every writer says that every writer should read it, so if I’m going to be a writer, I thought I’d better read it.  I’m not going to review the book because you can get a review of it anywhere.  I’ve criticized King recently about how sometimes he doesn’t follow his own writing advice, and…

View original post 623 more words

One thought on “Stephen King vs. the Adverb

  1. I have Stephen King’s On Writing next to read on my list and looking forward to it. I actually just read an excellent writing craft book “Story Trumps Structure” by Steven James. Wow, if you really want to get into the grit of narrative prose and plotting, this is the book to study.

    Like

Leave a Reply

