Slattery’s Horror Weblog is Now Phil Slattery’s Blog

Writing  at Hasting's Hardback Café in Farmington, NM, late evening of October 16, 2015 (self-portrait)

Writing at Hasting’s Hardback Café in Farmington, NM, late evening of October 16, 2015 (self-portrait)

Originally, I started this site as a purely horror weblog, because that was my passion of the moment.  However, long before I became interested in writing horror, I studied German, Russian, and English literature and occasionally some American literature of several genres. Now I am returning to my literary roots and my generally wide-ranging interests and this blog will begin to reflect that.  I will still post mostly horror-related material for the foreseeable future, but I will also start to expand into wider realms of literature with postings on classic and modern literature, occasional scifi-related articles, and whatever else “piques my interest”.

As you have no doubt noticed, I sometimes stray from horror with articles on the art of writing or lessons from non-horror masters, because to me, horror is just as much literature as any other genre.  It is all the art of the written word.  Indeed, there are many lessons that the classics of mainstream literature can teach writers of horror.

I find it annoying, to say the least, that horror is usually considered second- or even third-rate compared to mainstream literature, when excellent horror can offer as much in plot, character development, and other aspects as any other literary work.  Who can say that the works of Poe do not deserve to be in the canon of great American literature when they are included in university textbooks?  As influential as Lovecraft has been on the horror of late twentieth and early twenty-first century culture, who can say that he will not eventually be taught as widely as Poe?  Stephen King, one of the nation’s most prolific authors, certainly deserves much more respect than his works generally receive.

But I digress.

I will continue to post articles on the art of horror, as much of my interest still lies therein.  You will start to see more articles on classic literature and writing and other genres as well.  You will also start to see that I will post and re-post less non-fiction articles on the art of writing and movies in favor of actual short stories and flash fiction drawing on whatever sources I can.  I will probably post more criticism, as I have begun learning how valuable good constructive criticism is planning one’s own works and developing one’s own style and techniques.

I hope you will continue to follow along with my journey into the world of literature and that you enjoy it as least as much as I.

One thought on “Slattery’s Horror Weblog is Now Phil Slattery’s Blog

  1. Great way to go, Phil. As you point out, horror is literature, so reading the full varieties of classics, crime, mainstream, fantasy, detective, coming of age, etc. is a great value as a reader and a writer. Looking forward to it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

